>A Long Run in Training.. some James Dean.. and some Gorgeous Views…

>I didn’t get time to post this yesterday, but it was finally a day for a run longer than 5 miles. 🙂 Yes!! It was actually a 6 mile run I needed to complete yesterday.

It was a little colder than expected so instead of my usual Xersion tech shirts, I opted for my long sleeve Nike shirt. 🙂 Perfect. I started my run out, heading down my street. About 3/4 a mile down the road is Lake Erie. Since I brought my phone with me (for photos and to test out my training app), I decided to make a few stops along the way. My first stop was right up the stairs at the beach to take this photo.

My view down the street! 

I then continued along the lake and through my neighborhood to the Marina. The Marina is about 1.75 miles from my house. Being on the lake means it’s extremely windy! Even more so then downtown. When I got to the lake I decided to take a few minutes, walk out to the pier and get some extra shots!

After that, it was off back on my route! In no time (less than 30 min) I was already passed 3 miles. It was cool and breezy, what a great feeling! I kept on running back the way I came, along the lake and decided to do a loop around some houses. My route then took me past a second marina and out on the open road. It was about this time at 4 miles that things got a little rocky. The wind was out in FULL FORCE! My run took me behind my house through the fields in open air. Wind gusts were up to about 40 mph and i had to fight to stay on the road. I had to take a few walk breaks to stretch my legs so I could keep going. I made it past that point and looped around by my house. Now this is the time that yes, i ran right past my house! I still had about a mile and a half to go and it was my only option. So past my house it was! I ran back up my street to the lake, again and decided it was time to take a quick break to stretch. You never can do too much stretching when it comes to long miles. Then it was time for that short trip back to my house, again in open air going against the wind. It was rough, but I completed it and felt great. I felt better than great, I was on cloud 9. 🙂 I did longer than the estimated 6 miles ! It was actually 6.62 in 1 hour, and 7 minutes. 🙂 I’m getting better and working til that 2 hour Half Marathon goal!! :):)

It was then time for a quick shower, and getting ready for Columbus! But not before I got to watch Rebel without a Cause. Those who know me, know I am a HUGE fan of James Dean. I have one person to thank for that, Dustin Rybka (@dustinrybka). When we were dating, I used to sit up late at night doing my homework watching old movies while Dustin worked on press releases and events. It started with On the Waterfront, a Marlon Brando film. I fell in LOVE with it. Immediately bought it and have been watching it countless of times. Then came Forever Young, and James Dean, the movie. I think that’s what did it for me. Seeing his life unfold by James Franco right before my very eyes. It was heart breaking and moving. I’ve been watching his movies (all three) and reading biographies ever since. There’s something very sincere and touching about him that I just can’t shake.

Those two things, told me that this was the BEST day I have had in a long time. :):)

Next thing on my agenda. A 2 1/2 hour drive to Columbus for a friend’s birthday party! We planned on dinner and a comedy show, but the restaurant was over packed. So while the guys waited for our table (and drank at the bar), we went shopping! Our shopping consisted of bar hopping. Ally suggested The Ocean Club; an extremely upscale restaurant complete with piano man, for getting drinks with dry ice. How could we pass this up ?! There we sat.. At the bar of a gorgeous, upscale restaurant with martinis $13 and up trying to decide what to order. One suggestion for the bartender was all we needed. Passionfruit Martinis. It’s pineapple infused with vodka, passionfruit puree, a splash of lemon, and simple syrup, and it was strong!! But delish. 🙂

Passionfruit Martini

One drink was enough for us, it was time for another bar! 🙂 We found ourselves next door at Adobe Gillas. Let’s just say, the atmosphere was EXTREMELY different. It felt like we were on college spring break. We did get an interesting drink though, a Mug O Rita. 🙂 the bartender though we should get two and split it between the 4 of us girls. 1 was definitely enough! We even brought it back to the restaurant (Abuelo’s).

Emily & I at Adobe Gillas. 

After dinner was some quick shopping and the comedy show at Funny Bone. Just under 2 hours of cracking up really kept us going!! We saw Andy Henricks and John Heffron. Now John is a MUST see!! Check out his site He’s really great!!! :):)

After the show it was time to travel back to Zanesville, OH, where Emily is from. We didn’t arrive back until almost 2 am, so it was definitely time to get some sleep before another big day!

That brings me up to today.

Emily & I really wanted to hike out at Hocking Hills! I love being outdoors and trying out adventures, so of course I was in! We spent a few hours walking/hiking/climbing the trails and rock formations out at Old Man’s Cave and Ash Cave.

Here are a few pics from the day!

Leave a Reply

