>Speaking in Public.

>I just learned today that I will be getting the opportunity through my internship (at the Health Department) to teach a course overview of disaster services to groups of employees throughout the Health Department. I was originally asked to do one course, but when I learned about the program and I would get the chance to let other people know who I am, I immediately jumped to do three courses! I’m changing around my work schedule at my current job to fit it in.

This got me thinking about the fear most people have against public speaking. When I was younger, I used to get so nervous before presentations and papers, that I physically wasn’t able to get the words out. I used to have to make sure I had everything word for word written down & practiced. I’ve since then gotten over that fear, and just make sure I know what I’m talking about. Depending on the topic, I may want to have a layout in my head, but other than that, I just go with it! 
I’ve compiled a list of tips that think would be appropriate to public speaking. Let me know if you have any suggestions! 
  1. Know Your Material – This is the most important. You have to know what you’re talking about. And it’s also easiest if you enjoy your topic! 
  2. Practice – They always say, Practice makes perfect right? This is especially good if it’s a topic you’re not familiar with. 
  3. Know your surroundings – This could be the location, the people, and just what’s around you. Know how to work the computer (if you need one) and where everything is at you will need. It’s also best to get to know some people. You’ll be able to get through to them if you’ve made a connection with them. 
  4. Relax – I need to tell myself this all the time. When you’re calm you’re more like to just breeze through and not make a mistake! 
  5. Be confident – The same with relax. Exhibit confidence and know that you can do this. The words will just flow. 
Well, those are my tips! I’m sure there are a lot more out there! 
This will be great for me, because it will allow me to gain EXPERIENCE
After all, isn’t that what is super important in the working world?! 
Are there any types of public speaking that scares you? Do you have any tips? 
Leave a Reply

