Do one thing everyday that scares you!

Happy Monday! And what a beautiful Monday it is! In Ohio, the weather is surprisingly gorgeous, and has been for the last 5 or 6 days. I’d love to keep it that way!

Unfortunately, I looked at the weather. And on Wednesday, the temps start to drop, and on Thursday it begins to rain. This Indian Summer weather is starting to fade.

Let’s transition that to the real topic of this post.

Everyday, I get tons of links from Andrew  about Education, Quotes, Technology, Books, Photography. In the name of all things cool and interesting, he finds it and sends it to me. He  jokes  that he sends me useful information and I send him emails of clothing…. Which is true. I won’t deny that he may get links/emails from me everyday about a new top,  pant, shoes, accessories I’ve been e-mailed or found online. What can I say? A girl’s gotta have priorities.

Today, this quote really made sense because I know, first hand, that people don’t want to do things that ultimately make them uncomfortable or scares them. For instance, calling an irate customer, dealing with someone you can’t understand, speaking in public, admitting your wrong. All these things I’ve had experience with, and all of them don’t scare me anymore. Why? Because I’ve admitted they scared me or made me nervous, and faced it.

And that’s what I challenge all of you to do! I believe overcoming obstacles and fears will make you a better person. They certainly have me.

I’ll admit I’ve been in a definite bad mood/funky state of mind for months. It’s been extremely difficult transitioning from a career in Marketing and trying to switch to Public Health.  I’ve spent the last year and a half earning my Master’s degree full-time, working full-time, and trying to complete a 275 hour internship over the course of 5 months. It was the best experience I could have gotten, and I am so thankful. But I’m still worried all the experience, knowledge, and confidence I have doesn’t stack up to everyone else I’m competing against. I’ve interviewed and interviewed for various positions in the field. And you know what – I’m grateful. I’m happy that there are opportunities out there, you just have to go after them. I’ve found three different things I would love to do with my degree, and I’ve interviewed for all three. And I know that they each would make me happy.  I’ve been so fortunate to work hard before every interview and make it to the final stages with every organization. The problem I am facing? Not getting a call back. It’s difficult and it’s disheartening. But it isn’t going to stop me from applying to more positions and working even harder.

I’ve realized. If YOU want something YOU have to go after it. There is no one else that will do it for you. You may get ideas, and help, but ultimately that is up to YOU.

So in all of the stress and disappointments I’ve had, I’m learning to look at the bright side and know that somewhere out there, I’ll find what I’m looking for. For now, I have a good job, I have a steady income, family, and friends that are there for me, and that’s what’s most important.

So there you have it. I did one thing today that scares me. Sharing something publicly.

So go ahead… Do one thing everyday that scares you!

PS. On a more humorous note, I saw this link on Fitting It All In’s  Blog and cracked up 🙂

Happy Monday! 

Leave a comment